BartonCountyconservationwin.cfm Barton County conservation winners selected
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Barton County conservation winners selected


About 125 people attended the Barton County Soil Conservation District Annual Meeting and awards dinner sponsored by the Barton County bankers Feb. 7 at the Barton County Community College Student Union.

The winners of the Soil Conservation and Windbreak awards were presented with a framed certificate and a metal sign to display at their home. Hopefully the sign will encourage others to do conservation work.

The awards were presented at the annual meeting of the Barton County Soil Conservation District. The Barton County bankers sponsored the awards as well as the dinner for the meeting.

The awards selection committee is made up of 6 people. Rick Snell, Barton County Extension Agent, agriculture, serves as chairman. Other members are the county Soil Conservation District board chairman, the District Conservationist, the chairman of the Farm Service Agency county committee, the chairman of the county extension council executive board, and the key county banker. The Farm Service Agency Executive Director fills in often if one of the others can't attend the selection tour.

The key county banker is rotated every two years, this year it is Shane Dicks of Community Bank of the Midwest, Great Bend and Otis. Nominees are taken from the public and the committee. Several soil conservation and windbreak nominees are looked at on the tour, as well as possibilities for several of the new awards which include: Energy Conservation, Water Quality, Water Conservation and Wildlife Habitat. The committee gets in a van and drives through the county and evaluates most of the land farmed or the windbreak of each nominee. Members then vote independently and winners are selected by point totals.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives