0611NMSUffamembersreceiveaw.cfm New Mexico FFA members receive awards
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

New Mexico FFA members receive awards

New Mexico

New Mexico FFA members won awards and received state and American FFA degrees during the 81st Annual FFA State Convention June 1 to 3 in Las Cruces at New Mexico State University.

More than 80 members received their state FFA degrees by conducting an agribusiness enterprise, which required earning or investing $1,000 in the project and completing two years of agricultural education classes. Nine students earned their American FFA degrees for completing five years of FFA and earning or investing $10,000 in an agribusiness enterprise.

The winners of contests held during convention, including the agriscience fair and public speaking, also were recognized. Contest winners and degree recipients are listed below by chapter.


State degree: Lyle Danley, Chelsea Dennett

Agriscience: biochemistry, microbiology and food science--Division 2: Chelsea Dennett Biochemistry, microbiology and food science--Division 4: Lyle Danley and Wrangler Yarbrough

Botany--Division 3: Shawna McNatt and Danielle Medoza


American degree: Skyler Richins

State degree: Remington Hurt, Chea Moore, Joli O'Byrne


American degree: Tori Burnett, Ashley Leonard, Seth Pollock

State degree: Taylor Avery, Shelby Burnett, Dustin Harlow, Jenna Klein, Tod Menefee,

Kerraline Perrea, Brandon Worley

Public speaking: Chapter Prepared--Leah Hasler


State degree: Taylor Daniels


State degree: Blake Matheson


State degree: Jenna Checkler, Haley Montes


State degree: E.J. Kincaid, Joseph Ogden

Top chapter: Scrapbook


State degree: Alexa Borowski, Ryan Guevaro, Tessa Hendricks, Tanner Huston

Public speaking: Extemporaneous--Joel Ferguson


State degree: Hayden Harris, Lane Harris, Ciara Keezer, Justin Mock, Wayne Swagerty, Devian Taylor, Andrew Vandiver, Hannah Walker


American degree: Shannon Norris


State degree: Tell Runyan


State degree: Dylan Johnson


Agriscience: engineering--Division 1: Stephanie Swope

Des Moines

State degree: Myra Newkirk, Lyndi Owensby

Agriscience: environmental science--Division 2: Lyndi Owensby


Top team: Greenhand Quiz

Fort Sumner

State degree: Kyra Grant


American degree: Roland Jacques


State degree: David Corn

Top individual: Greenhand Creed--Katie Hillman


State degree: Kaitlen Glover, Molly Rush, Skylar Starbuck


Top individual: Greenhand Quiz--Erin Simmons

Harding County

State degree: Zachary Mitchell, Gabriel Trujillo

Las Cruces

American degree: Chelsey Howard

State degree: Erica Duran, Gabriel Gonzales, Jonathan Koenig, Katy Rosencrans, Bo Simpson

Agriscience: zoology--Division 2: Joslyn Beard

Las Vegas

State degree: Edwin Goetsch, Cady Mathews

Top team: Agricultural Sales

Top team: Agricultural Marketing

Gold president: Cady Mathews

Superior chapter


State degree: Rae Dawn Arnett, Lucas Blum, Megan Frost, Cimmaron Osborn, Larissa Ramirez, Taylor Smith

Los Lunas

State degree: Elizabeth Finely, Avila Garcia, Estevan Garcia, Ashley Martinez


State degree: Clint Barnard, Coren Followill, Amberlee Payne, Mitchum Rush, Kole Tatum

Mesa Vista

American degree: Amy Tainter

State degree: Anna Baeker, Mariah Galvez, Sonia Suazo, Alexandria Vasquez


State degree: Cami Belcher, Berto Chavez, John Chavez, Lupe Gutierrez, Ashley Mouser, Cherreda Piasso, Dennis Tolman, Bodie Trnka

Agriscience: biochemistry, microbiology and food science--Division 1: Kolene Winn Environmental science--Division 1: Megan Mouser

Zoology--Division 1: Sydney Stuart


State degree: Kendall Levacy


State degree: Mia Cauzza, Tucker Perdue


State degree: Jessica Gates

San Jon

State degree: Lily Bowe, Lisa Chesher, Lisa Mitchell

Santa Rosa

Agriscience: botany--Division 1: Felicia Moncayo


Agriscience: zoology--Division 4: Quanah Holyan and Felix Valdez

Engineering--Division 2: Kodi Boyd


American degree: Matthew Harris

State degree: Brian Aerts, Melanie Harris


State degree: Shelby Cockerham

Job interview: Levi Richards


State degree: Sami Bauler, Casey Romero


State degree: Shayella Smotherman

Agriscience: environmental science--Division 4: Megan Camer and Cheyenne Cope

Botany--Division 2: Chandra Parson, Division 4: Shayella Smotherman and Shanley Smotherman.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives