Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Moran announces disaster declaration granted for Kansas


Congressman Jerry Moran announced June 25 that a major disaster declaration for the State of Kansas has been issued to help communities recover from the severe winter storm and near record snow that occurred March 26 to 29. Moran, and Members of the Kansas delegation, last month supported a request for a disaster declaration that was sent to President Obama as a result of the March 2009 winter storms that hit southwest, northwest and south-central Kansas. Governor Mark Parkinson requested federal Public Assistance for 14 counties, snow removal assistance for 19 counties and Hazard Mitigation for the entire state.

"Kansas communities affected by the March storms needed help with the costs of cleaning up their communities and recovering," Moran said. "I am glad that the request was approved so that these affected communities can now begin to quickly recover."

Preliminary assessments estimated damage from the storms was approximately $18.6 million. Immediately following the storms, a state disaster emergency was declared for the affected counties. Public Assistance refers to money that is used to restore public infrastructure, such as roads, bridges and utilities, and for associated recovery costs, such as debris removal from public roads. The Hazard Mitigation Program funds projects that are designed to eliminate or reduce the impact of disasters to a community, such as flood control measures.

Public Assistance was granted for all requesting counties, including: Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Dickinson, Elk, Grant, Greenwood, Harvey, Lyon, Marion, Sumner and Woodson counties. Assistance for snow removal under the Public Assistance program was granted for all requesting counties including: Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Grant, Haskell, Kearney, Kingman, Kiowa, McPherson, Meade, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Seward, Stafford, Stanton and Stevens counties.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives