Soybeanproducersreceivereco.cfm Soybean producers receive recognition
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Soybean producers receive recognition


Kansas Soybean Association and Kansas Soybean Commission recently held their annual Soybean Expo in conjunction with the Topeka Farm Show. This year's event provided producers the opportunity to learn the latest research in production, biodiesel, aquaculture and discuss other marketing opportunities.

Production yield awards were presented to eleven soybean producers from across the state for the 2008 "Kansas Soybean Yield Contest" and "Protein and Oil Value Contest." Receiving recognition in the "Kansas Soybean Yield Contest" for Conventional Till were Howard Taylor, Doniphan County; Mark Meisinger, Marion County; Wayne Wilcoxson, Osborne County and Timmons Brothers, Wilson County. No-Till Dryland award winners were: Doug Schaefer, Marshall County; Shane Ohlde, Clay County; Thompson Farms, Osage County; and Terry Long, Smith County. Conventional Till, Irrigated recognition went to Ronald Ohlde, Clay County. Producers recognized in the "Protein and Oil Value Contest" dollar value per bushel were: First Place Terry Gossard, Labette County; Second Place H & H Farms, Labette County; and Third Place Timmons Brothers, Wilson County.

Ben Bellar, Elk County; was the first high school 4-H/FFA youth to receive recognition from the Kansas Soybean Association. Bellar received second place with a yield of 58.64 in the Conventional Till category from Southeast Kansas.

Kevin Compton received the 2008 ASA Western Region Conservation Legacy Award. The Kansas Soybean Association has had six individuals from the state receive this award marking six straight years the award has been given to a Kansan. The award sponsored by the American Soybean Association recognizes the outstanding environmental and conservation achievement of US soybean farmers who understand the responsibility of protecting our natural resources--the land.

Other awards presented included the "Friend of Soy" award presented to Scott Zaremba, Earth Friendly Fuels, Lawrence. Eldon Thiessen, retired State Statistician, received Meritorious Service recognition for 40 years of federal government service. The 2009 Kansas DuPont Young Leader Award was presented to Randall and Nicole Small, Neodesha.

For additional information on the awards or the Soybean Expo, contact the Kansas Soybean Association at 800-328-7390.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives