NebraskansamongNationalSorg.cfm Nebraskans among National Sorghum leaders in Washington D.C.
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Nebraskans among National Sorghum leaders in Washington D.C.


Members of the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Producers Association and Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board are among the delegation of sorghum growers and industry leaders lead by the National Sorghum Producers to Washington D.C., in mid-February. Sorghum leaders representing Nebraska GSPA include President Donald Bloss of Pawnee City and Gerald Simonsen, Ruskin, NSP Vice President. Representing the Nebraska Grain Sorghum Board is John Dolnicek of Lawrence, Secretary-Treasurer of the Board. Also from Nebraska is Jacob Geis, a National Sorghum Foundation Scholarship recipient. While in the nation's capital, the group will meet with Members of Congress, Senators and other key leaders in legislative and regulatory areas. NSP's D.C. Fly-In is an annual event that gives producers the opportunity to make their priorities known to their representatives and key decision makers.

One of the highlights of the Fly-In has been a meeting with new Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. In the meeting, Vilsack laid out his priorities as he begins his duties as Secretary of Agriculture and outlined his plans for the upcoming term. Among other things, he stressed the importance of utilizing carbon credits in agricultural markets, specifically in sorghum. He also discussed the importance of encouraging and maintaining conservation and environmentally friendly production practices.

Participants will also have the chance this week to meet with new USDA appointees including Michael Hand, Acting Administrator of the Risk Management Agency, to address concerns about crop insurance coverage for sorghum. Additionally, the group will meet with Acting Farm Service Agency Administrator Dennis Taitano and Natural Resource Conservation Service Acting Administrator Douglas Lawrence to introduce him to sorghum, the water-sipping crop.

On the Hill, delegates will be meeting with Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee Colin Peterson, and Ranking Member Frank Lucas as well as the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry and their home state Senators and Members of Congress.

Sorghum leaders representing Colorado are Terry and Marcella Swanson. Leaders from Kansas are Sue Schulte, Greg Krissek and Will Bramlett. Delegates from Texas are Brian McCuistion, David Thomas, Dan Krienke, Roxann Wiginton, Danny Beyer, Benjamin Smith, Kristin Heinmann and Lance Layton who is also a recipient of the Sorghum Foundation scholarship. New Mexico producer Toby Bostwick--Chairman of the NSP Board of Directors--and Matt Lansford of New Mexico will attend as well as Kenneth Rose of Oklahoma. The NSP staff will include Hannah Lipps and Shelee Padgett.

NSP represents U.S. sorghum producers. The organization serves as the voice of the sorghum industry coast to coast through legislative representation, regulatory representation, and education. To learn more about NSP, visit


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives