SenatorRoberts-104millionin.cfm Senator Roberts- $104 million in grants available for natural disasters
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Eliza Winters

"I think that the new emission standards are a great move. I think that the"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Senator Roberts- $104 million in grants available for natural disasters

Eighty-two Kansas counties eligible


U.S. Senator Pat Roberts, R-KS, Jan. 23 announced the availability of $104 million in grants to FEMA designated disaster counties for long-term, post-disaster economic recovery for communities affected by 2008 floods and other natural disasters.

There are 82 FEMA designated counties in Kansas eligible for this grant. Eligible grantees include Indian tribes, state and local governments, non-profit agencies working with governing bodies, and institutes of higher learning. Funding will be awarded to entities seeking to assist in the economic recovery of natural disaster areas. The EDA is specifically looking for programs that increase employment opportunities for disaster areas. Individuals and entities seeking grants to rebuild homes, businesses, levees, etc. are not eligible for funding under this program. Each grant will cover from 75 to 100 percent of proposal costs.

Senator Roberts has been a strong supporter of ongoing recovery and aid for recent tornadoes, floods and storms that have hit many Kansas communities. "It is critical to our Kansas economy and local communities to rebuild those disaster affected areas. These grants could be a great investment in our local economy as post-disaster cleanup and rebuilding continues. I encourage all local governments, agencies and others eligible to apply for these worthwhile funds."

These grants are available by the Economic Development Administration under the United States Department of Commerce.

Grants are awarded on a first come, first serve basis with a pool of $104 million available to counties affected in the following states: Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming. Applications must be submitted electronically at: or mailed to EDA Denver Regional Office, 410 17th St., Suite 250, Denver, CO 80202. The phone number for the EDA office in Denver is 303-844-4714. For more information, visit Applications are accepted on a continuing basis and processed as received.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives