Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

NeCGA, Nebraska Corn Board present annual awards at Ag Classic


The Nebraska Corn Growers presented its annual Golden Ear award to Don McCabe, editor of Nebraska Farmer. The Golden Ear Award is presented by NeCGA to recognize and appreciate an individual's contribution to agriculture. McCabe is a northeast Nebraska native, where he grew up on a diversified crops and livestock farm. He spent four years in the U.S. Navy before studying journalism at the University of Nebraska. After graduating in 1975, he went to work for the York News-Times, and in 1977 he joined the Nebraska Farmer as associate editor.

In the 31 years since, McCabe has covered an incredible number of events, conducted countless interviews and traveled Nebraska from corner to corner many times. In 1988, he was named managing editor of the Nebraska Farmer and in 2003 he was named editor. He has been recognized by his peers and many agriculture organizations for his efforts, and in 2007 he was named to the Nebraska Hall of Agricultural Achievement.

The Nebraska Corn Board presented awards to three Nebraskans during the Nebraska Ag Classic. These include:

Greg Ibach, of Sumner, who received the annual Ag Achievement Award. Ibach, director of the Nebraska Department of Agriculture, was recognized for his ag industry leadership, and his continual support of the Nebraska Corn Board's mission and activities. The Ag Achievement Award is given annually to an individual who demonstrates vision, commitment and a deep understanding of the value of agriculture and the corn checkoff to the state of Nebraska.

Ken Rahjes, network coordinator on KRVN, received the Nebraska Corn Board's annual Media Award. Rahjes can be heard nearly every weekday on KRVN, KTIC and KNEB.

Phil High, a farmer in the Bertrand area, received the Nebraska Corn Board's annual Ethanol Award. High has been an advocate and promoter of ethanol for many years. His efforts led to the development of AmeriFuels/Renewable Fuels Technology LLC, a company that develops and promotes usage of stationary irrigation motors that run on pure ethanol and works to market and deliver the ethanol needed for the engines.

The Nebraska Corn Board also presented awards during the recent Nebraska Cattlemen's Convention:

The 2007-2008 Livestock Industry Award was presented to Michael Kelsey, executive vice-president of the Nebraska Cattlemen. Kelsey worked to represent Nebraska cattle producers and also to bring the various commodity organization closer together. He was also instrumental in helping organize the first of its kind, joint Washington, DC, lobbying efforts by the Nebraska Corn Board and Nebraska Cattlemen.

Craid Uden, manager of Darr Feedlot at Cozad, was presented the 2008-2009 Livestock Industry award. Uden has taken a 4,000 head feedlot and helped transform it into a 45,000 head operation. He's also a propoant of distillers grains.

The Corn Board's Livestock Industry Award is given annually to recognize an individual's work in leadership on behalf of the Nebraska's livestock industries, including market development, promotion and research.

4 Star NE\6-B

Date: 1/30/09

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives