NDgraindealerstoconveneinFa.cfm N.D. grain dealers to convene in Fargo
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

N.D. grain dealers to convene in Fargo

The North Dakota Grain Dealers Association will hold its 97th Annual Convention and Industry Show at the Fargo Holiday Inn Jan. 18 to 20. Approximately 950 people are expected for the event, consisting of grain elevator managers, farmers, grain industry personnel, and spouses. The meeting includes educational sessions, business meetings, and a trade show of 81 companies providing products and services to the grain industry.

Volatility in the commodities markets has challenged dealers and farmers over the past year. Convention program segments address dealing with it. Preston Kranz and Milt Lund from CoBank, Ami Heesch from Country Hedging, and a representative from BQ Commodities will discuss Managing Financing and Commodity Market Volatility. Attorney David Barrett will speak about using Master Trade Agreement in purchasing grain.

Consolidation in the seed industry is an issue of importance to seedsmen and farmers. Leland "Judge" Barth from Dakota Pride Cooperative in Jamestown, N.D., and a representative from Monsanto Co., will address the topic at convention.

Back for a 3rd consecutive convention to talk about ethanol will be Dr. David Swenson of Iowa State University. Growth of that industry has slowed in the past couple years. One large producer is in bankruptcy. Swenson will speak about Ethanol Fortunes, Misfortunes and the Future.

A number of other speakers and entertainment groups will perform at the convention.

Chair couple for this year's convention is Kim and Sandy Alberty of West Fargo, N.D. Kim operates Agassiz Seed and Supply in West Fargo.

The Association is governed by a nine-man board of elevator managers from around the state. Current association officers, directors, and staff are:

Clyde Krebs, Glen Ullin, president; Dan DeRouchey, Berthold, 1st vice president; Paul Lautenschlager, Beach, 2nd vice president; Tony Johannesen, Edgeley, director; Todd Vogel, Marion, director; Pete Peterson, Dahlen, director; Roger Wagner, Grafton, director; David Fiebiger, Finely, director; Cameron Erickson, Russell, director; Steve Strege, Fargo, executive vice president; Cheryal Welle, Fargo, executive assistant; Stu Letcher, Hatton, safety and health director; Hal Grieve, Buffalo, safety specialist; Sue Benson, Fargo, office assistant.

The North Dakota GDA office address is 118 Broadway N., Suite 606, Fargo, ND 58102.

Date: 1/30/09

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives