ManyWestTexanshonoredatrece.cfm Many West Texans honored at recent AgriLife fete
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Many West Texans honored at recent AgriLife fete


A number of West Texans were honored for various accomplishments during the Texas A&M AgriLife conference held earlier this month at Texas A&M University in College Station.

Leading the list with a Texas AgriLife Extension Service Partnership Award was Lamesa Cotton Growers. The group, established in 1956, was recognized for years of support of AgriLife Extension and Texas AgriLife Research. These AgriLife entities conducted cotton research projects, farm tours, field days, educational conferences and farm policy training sessions with the financial and political support of Lamesa Cotton Growers.

That relationship strengthened in 1990 when the group bought 160 acres in Dawson County, which became the Agricultural Complex for Advanced Research and Extension Systems or AGCARES research farm.

Other partnership award winners were Blue Bell Creameries, Cargill Animal Nutrition, Texas Extension Education Association and the Vocational Agriculture Teachers Association of Texas.

Also presented were the Vice Chancellor's Awards in Excellence, which were established in 1980 and recognize outstanding achievements by Texas A&M AgriLife faculty and staff in The Texas A&M System. West Texans winning the 2008 Vice Chancellor's Awards in Excellence included:

AgriLife Extension Education and Service category:

--Greg B. Cronholm, AgriLife Extension agriculture and natural resources agent in Hale and Swisher counties.

--Amy Erwin Baugh, AgriLife Extension family and consumer sciences agent in Crosby and Lynn counties.

--Ronda Alexander, AgriLife Extension 4-H youth specialist, Lubbock.

--Randal Boman, AgriLife Extension cotton agronomist, Lubbock.

AgriLife Extension Support Personnel:

--Twila J. Barnes, serving the Texas AgriLife Research and Extension Center at Lubbock.

The 2008 Superior Service AgriLife Extension winners from the West Texas region included:

County AgriLife Extension Agent Category:

--Ronda Alexander (also a Vice Chancellor's Award recipient).

--Tanya Davis, AgriLife Extension family and consumer sciences agent in Wise County.

AgriLife Extension Program Specialist Category:

--Jay Yates, AgriLife Extension risk management program specialist, Lubbock.

Teams Category:

--Billy Kniffen, AgriLife Extension water resources program specialist at Menard; James Cathey, AgriLife Extension wildlife specialist, College Station; Bryan Davis, AgriLife Extension agriculture and natural resources agent in Hays County; Monty Dozier, AgriLife Extension regional program director for the South Region, College Station; Bruce Lesikar, AgriLife Extension biological and agricultural engineering program leader, College Station; Justin Mechell, AgriLife Extension biological and agricultural engineering assistant, College Station; Barron Rector, AgriLife Extension range specialist, College Station; and John Smith, AgriLife Extension soil and crop sciences program specialist, College Station.

The 2008 Epsilon Sigma Phi Awards, Alpha Zeta Chapter winners from West Texas included:

Early Career Award:

--Karan Heffelfinger, AgriLife Extension family and consumer sciences agent in Pecos County.

Distinguished Service Award:

--Greg Cronholm, AgriLife Extension integrated pest management agent for Hale County.

Visionary Leadership Award (also presented with a Vice Chancellor's Award in Excellence):

--Tom Fuchs, AgriLife Extension state integrated pest management coordinator, San Angelo.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives