Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by ohio bo

"An excellent essay on fairs that brought back many memories for me. In my part"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Lucas announces final Republican member to join Ag Committee

Feb. 4, Agriculture Committee Ranking Republican Frank Lucas announced the addition of Rep. Cynthia Lummis from Wyoming to the Republican membership of the Committee. This completes the Republican roster. Rep. Lummis will serve on the subcommittee on Department Operations, Oversight, Nutrition, and Forestry, and the subcommittee on Horticulture and Organic Agriculture. The complete list of Agriculture Committee Republicans is included below.

"I welcome Rep. Lummis to the Agriculture Committee and look forward to working with her. She will bring a greater Western perspective and real world experience as a livestock producer to the Committee," said Ranking Member Frank Lucas.

Rep. Cynthia Lummis is a fourth generation rancher from Cheyenne. Lummis most recently served as the 29th state treasurer. Lummis served in the Wyoming State Legislature from 1979 to 1994, first as representative and later as a senator. The cattle industry is the largest part of Wyoming agriculture accounting for 69 percent of all cash receipts in 2007. Hay is the leading crop followed by sugarbeets, corn, and wheat.

The Agriculture Committee Republicans are: Frank Lucas, Ranking Member, (OK-3); Bob Goodlatte (VA-6); Jerry Moran (KS-1); Timothy V. Johnson (IL-15); Sam Graves (MO-6); Mike Rogers (AL-3); Steve King (IA-5); Randy Neugebauer (TX-19); K. Michael Conaway (TX-11); Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1); Jean Schmidt (OH-2); Adrian Smith (NE-3); Robert E. Latta (OH-5); Phil Roe (TN-1); Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-9); Glenn W. Thompson (PA-5); Bill Cassidy (LA-6); Cynthia Lummis (WY).

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives