Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Annual Ford County Conservation District meeting held Feb. 7


The 61st annual meeting of the Ford County Conservation District was held on Feb. 7 at the Ford County 4-H Fair Exhibit Building. An election was held for two supervisors who will serve on the Ford County Conservation District Board for a term of three years. John Askew, Dodge City, Douglas Melia, Dodge City, and Colby Stegman, Offerle, were nominated for these positions.

The winners in the 2008 poster and essay contests were as follows:

2008 Poster Contest Winners

Grades K to 1

USD 381--Spearville: 1st Place, Hannah Gleason, 1st Grade, Rich and Karla Gleason; 2nd Place, Ela Dameron, 1st Grade, Layne and Sarah Dameron; 3rd Place, Tyler Scott, 1st Grade, Michael and Lorea Scott.

USD 459--Bucklin: 1st Place, Ashleigh Mazerac, 1st Grade, Frank Mazerac and Nicole Mazerac; 2nd Place, Desi Doherty, 1st Grade, John and Mariah Doherty; 3rd Place, Gabe Ellis, 1st Grade, Will and Laura Ellis.

Grand Champion: Hannah Gleason.

Grades 2 and 3

USD 381--Spearville: 1st Place, Haley Gleason, 3rd Grade, Rich and Karla Gleason; 2nd Place, Austin Lampe, 3rd Grade, Kurt and Nadine Lampe; 3rd Place, Shane Williams, 3rd Grade, Mike and Terri William.

USD 443--Dodge City: 1st Place, Stephanie Sanchez, 3rd Grade, Jose Sanchez and Oliva Sanchez; 2nd Place, Estefania Gutierrez Pena, 2nd Grade, Marisol Pena; 3rd Place, Alexandra Lara Bautista, 2nd Grade, Jesus and Lily Bautista.

Grand Champion: Haley Gleason

Grades 4 to 6

USD 381--Spearville: 1st Place, Suzy Arkell, 5th Grade, Daniel and Melca Arkell; 2nd Place, Wyatt Hessman, 4th Grade, Lynnette Hessman and Skyler Hessman; 3rd Place, Kjersten Myers, 4th Grade, Gilbert and Katrina Balli.

USD 443--Dodge City: 1st Place, Emily Rangel-Calderon, 4th Grade, Jose and Emilia Rangel; 2nd Place, Kaylyn Maple, 4th Grade, Roger and Vicki Maple; 3rd Place, Phung Nguyen, 5th Grade, Nhan Le and Hung Nguyen.

USD 459--Bucklin: 1st Place, Cameron Birney, 4th Grade, Kevin and Bev Birney; 2nd Place, Shayla Woods, 4th Grade, Jason and Calli Woods; 3rd Place, Arianna Ormord, 4th Grade, Heath and Jennifer Ormord.

Grand Champion: Suzy Arkell

Grades 7 to 9

USD 443--Dodge City: 1st Place, Maddison Schlegel, 7th Grade, Jake and Krista Schlegel; 2nd Place, Chelsie Hall, 7th Grade, Tim and Julie Hall; 3rd Place, Norma Olivares, 7th Grade, Marcelino Olivares and Norma Olivares.

Grand Champion: Maddison Schlegel

Grades 10 to 12

USD 381--Spearville: 1st Place, Amanda Kay Nietling, 12th Grade, Duane and Brenda Nietling;

USD 459-Bucklin: 1st Place, Janika Post, 12th Grade, Dieter and Cornelia Post; and Joe and Stormy Davis; 2nd Place, Mariah Koehler, 10th Grade, Lori Koehler;

Grand Champion: Janika Post

The five posters of the grand champion winners were entered in the 2008 Kansas Association of Conservation Districts Poster Contest. Suzy Arkell's poster received a third place award in the 4th to 6th grade division of the state contest, and Janika Post's poster received a second place award in the 10th to 12th grade division of the state contest.

2008 Essay Contest Winners

5th Grade: 1st Place, Yeju Hwang, Soule Intermediate Center, Inho Hwang.

6th Grade: 1st Place, Darja Meskin, Bucklin Junior High School, Dzenan and Spomenka Meskin; 2nd Place, Saif Khan, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Rebecca Khan and Muhammad Khan; 3rd Place, Jamie Steele, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Robert Steele and Gera Steele;

7th Grade: 1st Place, Brad Hutton, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Jeff and Jenny Hutton; 2nd Place, A. J. Cossell, Bucklin Junior High School, Spike and Coleen Cossell; 3rd Place, Brendan Wenzl, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Tim and Charla Wenzl;

8th Grade: 1st Place, Matt Edwards, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Phil and Michele Edwards; 2nd Place, Gentry Cork, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Dennis and Tammy Cork; 3rd Place, Shae Maniates, Sacred Heart Cathedral School, Tana Browne.

Grand Champion: Brad Hutton; 2nd Place: Darja Meskin.

The top two essays were entered in the 2008 Kansas Association of Conservation Districts Essay Contest.

The Ford County Conservation District Scholarship was awarded to Heath Tieben, Dodge City.

The guest speaker for the evening was Phillip D. Thomas, from the Kansas Humanities Council Speakers Bureau. His topic was "There's Nothing the Matter with Kansas, but At Times It is Peculiar."

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives