0729AHAjuniorscompetenatlco.cfm 0729AHAjuniorscompetenatlco.cfm Hereford Juniors compete in national contests
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Wheat_Harvest movie

"Thanks so much for the article! These are the types of people we hope to"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Hereford Juniors compete in national contests

More than 640 youth and their families gathered at the 10th annual 2009 VitaFerm Junior National Hereford Expo in Tulsa, Okla., July 5 to 11, to show and celebrate the Hereford breed.

In addition to the cattle show, juniors and adults competed in 22 skill-based contests ranging from livestock judging to team fitting, and even a 3-on-3 basketball tournament.

Contest winners are as follows:

Illustrated Speech

This is the final level of competition for members who have won their state competitions. The National Organization of Poll-ettes sponsored the illustrated speech contest.

Peewee participants: Walker Dunn, Cochranton, Pa.; Ben Jensen, Courtland, Kan.; Logan Marple, Westmoreland, Kan.; Jessica Jensen, Courtland, Kan.; Lauren McMillan, Ohio, Ill.; Madison Sifford, Snow Camp, N.C.; Ryan Moser, Westmoreland, Kan.; Wesley Denton, Blue Rapids, Kan.; Kate Mead, Concord, Ark; Evan Espenscheid, Marshalltown, Iowa; Kyle Amendt, Pleasantville, Iowa; Amy Larson, Macomb, Okla.; Brock Courtney, Pryor, Okla.; Reilly Jones, Darlington, Wis.; Noah Benedict, Mahomet, Ill.; Colton Decker, Vincent, Ohio.

Junior: 1. Hadley Hatler, Winters, Texas; 2. Justin Moser, Westmoreland, Kan.; 3. Abby Repenning, Mitchell, S.D.

Intermediate: 1. Blake Cameron, Kingfisher, Okla.; 2. Judd Hatler, Winters, Texas; 3. Elise Hackett, Tuscola, Ill.

Senior: 1. Cassie Bacon, Prairie Grove, Ark.; 2. Allysa Fee, Jackson, Tenn.; 3. Kristen Stufft, Lewistown, Pa.

Extemporaneous Speech

The National Organization of Poll-ettes sponsored the extemporaneous speech contest.

Intermediate: 1. Zachary Frazier, Butler, Pa.; 2. Brady Jensen, Courtland, Kan.; 3. Morgann Gregory, Houstonia, Mo.

Senior: 1. Matt Woolfolk, Columbia, Tenn.; 2. Kristen Stufft, Lewistown, Pa.; 3. Curtis Ezell, St. Joe, Ark.

Promotional Poster

Peewee: 1. Ethan Hopkins, Winchester, Ind.; 2. Cobie Hufnagel, Luther, Okla.; 3. Jessica Jensen, Courtland, Kan.

Junior: 1. Melissa Grimmel, Jarrettsville, Md.; 2. Cassidy Hufnagel, Luther, Okla.; 3. Braden Mead, Concord, Ark.

Senior: 1. Zachary Hopkins, Winchester, Ind.; 2. Ted Burkitt, Valley Springs, Ark.

Livestock Judging

Peewee individual: 1. Audrey Nolan, Gilmer, Texas; 2. Kase Renfro, Stephenville, Texas; 3. Logan Marple, Westmoreland, Kan.

Peewee team: 1. Texas--Brody Rogers, Hamilton; Kase and Kade Renfro, Stephenville; and Brynden Andrews, Como.

Junior individual: 1. Jackson Mead, Concord, Ark.; 2. Gabriel Smith, Fredericksburg, Texas; 3. Dalton Cleveland, Pottsboro, Texas.

Junior team: 1. Wyoming--Jessica Middleswarth, Torrington; Ali Briggs, Torrington; Kelley Largent, Kaycee; and Rachael Buzanowski, Pompeys Pillar, Mont.

Intermediate individual: 1. Cheyenne Moyer, Lincoln, Ark.; 2. Rashele Blakley, Oolegah, Okla.; 3. Tyler Heitman, Edgewood, Texas.

Intermediate team: 1. Texas--Jonathan Chachere, Dayton; Jacqueline Rosson, Milford; Tyler Heitmen, Edgewood; and Bethany Nolan, Gilmer.

Senior individual: 1. Eric Schatte, Giddings, Texas; 2. Brandon Martin, Judsonia, Ark.; 3. Seth Leinenbach, Jasper, Ind.

Senior team: 1. Oklahoma--Eddie Seidl, Garber; Latran and Levon Nichols, Ringwood; and Ryan Pullan, Aline.

Adult individual: 1. Cody Washam, Miller, Mo.; 2. Don Sissel, Billings, Mo.; 3. Jeremy Workman, Whiteboro, Texas.

Adult team: 1. Illinois--Jacob Chapman, Ottawa; Kyle McMillan, Ohio; Floyd and Annette Crane, LaSalle.

Hereford Bowl

Teams of four were asked questions about the Hereford industry and animal science.

Champion Junior team: Texas- Shelby and Koby Rogers, Hamilton; Harrison Smith, Gatesville; and Scott Chachere, Dayton

Champion Senior team: Texas- Jessica Coffelt, Whitney; Lukas and Jonathan Chachere, Dayton; and Mallorie Phelps, Grandview

Junior Written Test winner: Miranda Stotz, Skiatook, Okla.

Senior Written Test winner: Lukas Chachere, Dayton, Texas

Team Marketing

Teams "sell" an animal to a panel of judges by promoting pedigree information, performance data and visual characteristics of the animal.

Champion Junior team: Texas--Harrison Smith, Gatesville; Josh Dugger, Plano; Jake Humphreys, Grandview

Champion Senior team: Kansas--Cody Jensen, Courtland, Kan.; Tyler and Courtney Schultz, Haviland

Team Fitting (Sponsored by Andis)

A team of three has 30 minutes to fit a heifer for a panel of judges. One member of the team then shows the heifer.

Champion team: Nebraska--Blake and Mitchell Tucker, North Platte and Grady McMahon, Ayr.

Outstanding State Junior Member

Each state with participants at the JNHE can recognize one member with this award.

Alabama: Katlin Mulvaney, Opelika

Arkansas: Curtis Ezell, St. Joe

Colorado: Kevin Ernst, Windsor

Georgia: Kayla Dobb, Talking Rock

Idaho: Georgia Berrett, Melba

Illinois: Sasha McKown, Atlanta

Indiana: Chandis Kottkamp, Clayton

Iowa: Patti Heidt, Lockridge

Kansas Polled: Nicole Rosencutter, Topeka

Kansas Horned: Kimber Evans, Fall River

Maryland: Kyle Lemmon, Manchester

Michigan: Kara Bielema, Ada

Minnesota: Jamie Hanson, Comfrey

Mississippi: Canan McKellar, Como

Missouri: Jocelyn Butler, Republic

Nebraska: Grady McMahon, Ayr

New Jersey: Bryce Gerlach, Far Hills

New York: Robert Church, Hoosick Falls

North Carolina: Mason Blinson, Buies Creek

Ohio: Heather Bradford, St. Marys

Oklahoma: Geoff Andras, Connerville

Pennsylvania: Andre Howe, Wagontown

South Dakota: Kelsey Repenning, Mitchell

Tennessee: Zachery Hopkins, Winchester

Texas: Erick Schmidt, Gonzales

Virginia: Michelle Rhymes, Leesburg

Wisconsin: Danielle Starr, Manawa

Wyoming: Jordan Largent, Kaycee

3-on-3 Basketball

Champion peewee team: Bulldogs--Korbin Collins, Flanagan; Noah Benedict, Mahomet; Stephen Lorenzen, Georgetown

Champion junior team: Midwest Mayhem--Briana and Rhett Katzenberger, Monroe, Wis., Mariah Katzenberger, Freeport, Ill.; and Tyler Espenscheid, Osceola, Iowa

Champion intermediate team: Montana--Austin Buzanowski, Pomeys Pillar; Taylor Sidwell, Roberts; and Wyatt Uries

Champion senior team: Minnesota--Marty and Michael Delaney, Lake Benton; and Travis Williamson, Garretson, S.D.

Champion adult team: Wisconsin--Eric Katzenburger, Freeport, Ill.; Aaron Katzenburger, Monroe; Jeff Weichert, Cedarsburg

State Scrapbook

1. Illinois

2. Virginia

3. Ohio

Golden Pitchfork Award

1. Iowa

Great American CHB Grill-off

The CHB (Certified Hereford Beef) Grill-off was a new event this year in which each state assembled a team of six members and presented a recipe to a panel of judges. The purpose of the Grill-off is to promote CHB and its benefits to a healthy diet.

Junior: 1. Washington; 2. South Dakota; 3. Oregon.

Adult: 1. Texas; 2. Iowa; 3. Nebraska.

Hereford Idol

1. Tommie Lynne Mead, Midville, Ga.; 2. Charlsie and Robert Craig, Scandia, Kan.; 3. Nicky Folkman, Ixonia, Wis.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives