Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

Young Angus ladies sweep showmanship honors at 2009 NJAS

National Junior Angus Association members from 32 states competed for the title of "Top Showman" at the 43rd National Junior Angus Showmanship Contest, July 23-25, at the 2009 National Junior Angus Show in Perry, Ga. The 51 young men and women first qualified at the state level before advancing to the preliminary round at the NJAS, where 15 finalists and six honorable mention were announced. Youth can only compete once in the national contest, sponsored by the American Angus Association, American Angus Auxiliary, Ham James Memorial Fund and Andis Clippers.

Lindsey Grimes, Hillsboro, Ohio, won first place after being named to the top 15 juniors to compete in the final round. She received the esteemed Dean Hurlbut Award, a silver Revere bowl, as well as a monetary award provided by the Ham James Memorial Fund.

Courtney Jentz, Fennimore, Wis., earned second place honors. Callie Smith, Lebanon, Tenn., claimed third place, and Jara Settles, Hoskins, Neb., won fourth. Ashley Hunter, Goodell, Iowa, rounded out the top five contestants, who each received a monetary award as well as a silver Revere bowl provided by the Auxiliary.

Exhibitors show animals chosen by random selection, and their performance is evaluated by a panel of top showmen. They are judged on skill, their ability to follow instructions, use of equipment, courtesy, sportsmanship, and general appearance. After four preliminary rounds, 15 finalists are chosen and compete in a final round two days later.

John Dickinson, Sacramento, Calif.; Jeremy Haag, Smithville, Mo.; and Christy Dameron Schumaker, Lexington, Ill., evaluated this year's contestants.

Other finalists in the top 15, who received a set of Andis clippers, include Robert Myers, Yamhill, Ore.; Tera Moritz, Piper City, Ill.; Joshua Laflin, Olsburg, Kan.; Sally Yon, Ridge Spring, S.C.; Shane Clary, Brodnax, Va.; Bailey Harsh, Radnor, Ohio; Danielle Foster, Niles, Mich.; Lyndsie Kaehler, Saint Charles, Minn.; Chandler Akins, Nashville, Ga.; and Jacob Hoffschneider, Arlington, Neb.

Juniors who received honorable mention include Amanda Chumley, Stamping Ground, Ky.; Brett Taylor, Oakland, Ill.; Cassandra Silveira, Sanger, Calif.; Caroline Black, Commerce, Ga.; Gretchen Ettredge, Pilot Point, Texas; and Zachary Wells, Hamilton, Texas.

Web hpj.com

Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email: webmaster@hpj.com


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives