AFRlongtimemembernamedtoOkl.cfm AFR longtime member named to Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame
Home News Livestock Crops Markets Hay, Range & Pasture Home & Family Classifieds Resources This Week's Journal
Commerical Hay Equipment For The Farm
Agro-Culture Liquid Fertilizer

Farm Survey

Journal Getaways

Reader Comment:
by Greater Franklin County

"Thanks for picking up the story about our Buy One Product Local campaign --- we're"....Read the story...
Join other discussions.

AFR longtime member named to Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame


On March 24, Blackwell farmer and rancher Elmore Bathurst was inducted into the Oklahoma Agricultural Hall of Fame at the state Capitol. The induction ceremony served as the closing to Oklahoma Agriculture Day.

Bathurst has often said he was fortunate to be involved in an industry that allowed him to be a decision maker, while also being partners with his wife, Charlene. Together, they built a successful farming operation and raised a wonderful family.

Bathurst has been a member of American Farmers & Ranchers/Oklahoma Farmers Union since 1965 and served on their policy committee. AFR President Terry Detrick said Bathurst is a little guy with a big voice--a voice that has been heard around the state, across the nation, in the halls of Congress and all over the world as he fought for farmers and ranchers everywhere.

"When I was president of the Oklahoma and National Wheat Growers Associations, I could always count on Elmore for the wisest council," Detrick said. "He is a man with a vision and knew decades ago the importance of a unified agriculture."

Bathurst was a founding member of the Oklahoma Wheat Commission and served as chairman from 1968 to 1970. He has also been a member of the Oklahoma Wheat Growers Association since 1967 and served as chairman from 1972 to 1975.

The newly inducted Hall of Famer offered the same advice to farmers and ranchers he received many years ago. "Don't spend all your time looking over the front of your tractor; spend part of your time in the political arena because that's where the forces are at, who are leading your pocket book," Bathurst said.

Bathurst was also appointed to the U.S. Wheat Industry Council by two U.S. secretaries of agriculture and was selected by then U.S. Senator Don Nickles to serve on the Oklahoma Ag Advisory Committee. He was later selected by Governor Henry Bellman to serve on the Oklahoma Futures Advisory Committee.

Bathurst is the twelfth inductee into the hall. The Oklahoma Agriculture Hall of Fame was created in 1998 to honor Oklahoma agriculturalists who have distinguished themselves in the industry as community and state leaders. Past Ag Hall of Fame winners present were George W. Stone, Ralph Chain and L.E. Castle.


Copyright 1995-2014.  High Plains Publishers, Inc.  All rights reserved.  Any republishing of these pages, including electronic reproduction of the editorial archives or classified advertising, is strictly prohibited. If you have questions or comments you can reach us at
High Plains Journal 1500 E. Wyatt Earp Blvd., P.O. Box 760, Dodge City, KS 67801 or call 1-800-452-7171. Email:


Archives Search

NCBA Convention

United Sorghum Checkoff Program

Inside Futures

Editorial Archives

Browse Archives